Search
Close this search box.

Who’s Monitoring Medicaid Assisted Living?—A Brief Overview

This webinar took place on Thursday, March 7, 2024, from 11:00 a.m. PT/2:00 p.m. ET – 11:30 a.m. PT/2:30 p.m. ET.

State Medicaid programs generally can pay for assisted living services. Also, new federal regulations (effective March 2023) now establish some rights for residents of Medicaid-participating assisted living facilities.

Medicaid assisted living, however, remains a work in progress. If a facility violates a resident’s federal rights, the state may have no means of accepting a complaint from the resident, or forcing the facility to correct the problem. Likewise, as shown by a recent Justice in Aging report, the assisted living “quality measures” collected by the state (and shared with the federal government) may be relatively meaningless and, in any case, are likely not provided to the public.

This 30-minute webinar, Who’s Monitoring Medicaid Assisted Living?—A Brief Overview, explains the current regulatory structure and its limitations, with a focus on how the system might be changed for the better.

Who should attend:
Advocates and legal aid attorneys working on behalf of residents in assisted living, federal and state policymakers, long-term care ombudsmen.

Presenter:
Eric Carlson, Director, Long-Term Services and Supports Advocacy

Related Resources

Skip to content