Search
Close this search box.

Nursing Facility Resident Rights in Medicare “Short-Stay” Rehabilitation

This webinar took place on Thursday, May 2, 2024, from 11:00 a.m. PT/2:00 p.m. ET – 12:00 p.m. PT/3:00 p.m. ET

Nursing facility residents often are treated unfairly when they enter a facility for “short-stay” rehabilitation. They may be denied Medicare coverage based on their preceding hospital stay being under “observation status.” Or their Medicare coverage may be terminated prematurely because of a supposed “plateauing” in their response to rehabilitation. Or the nursing facility may try to evict them based on their allegedly not being allowed to remain in a “Medicare bed.”

This webinar, Nursing Facility Resident Rights in Medicare “Short-Stay” Rehabilitation, will present the law and advocacy strategies that can protect residents in these and related situations. For example, a “plateauing” of a resident’s condition is not a legitimate reason for stopping Medicare coverage, and a resident generally can remain in a “Medicare bed” even after Medicare coverage has run its course. Advocacy strategies will include Medicare appeal processes, eviction defense hearings, public education, and joining forces with therapy professionals.

Who should attend:
Advocates and legal aid attorneys working with nursing facility residents and their families.

Presenter:
Eric Carlson, Director, Long-Term Services and Supports Advocacy

Related Resources

Skip to content