Search
Close this search box.

Improving Access to Oral Health Through Medicaid HCBS Waivers

This webinar took place on Thursday, May 16, 2024, from 11:00 a.m. PT/2:00 p.m. ET – 12 p.m. PT/3:00 p.m. ET

Older adults and people with disabilities experience significant poor oral health outcomes. One’s income, race, disability, and state of residence all impact access to oral health and oral health outcomes. This is because oral health coverage is not universal and even where coverage is available, older adults and people with disabilities face unique barriers to accessing care to improve their oral health.

The inclusion of oral health services in Medicaid Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) waivers could help to address these disparities and improve oral health outcomes for older adults and people with disabilities.

This webinar, Improving Access to Oral Health Through Medicaid HCBS Waivers, will provide an overview of oral health coverage for older adults and people with disabilities, why oral health is so critical to overall health, and the barriers these populations face in accessing oral health care. The session will highlight ways in which Medicaid waivers can act to address these barriers and provide webinar participants with steps they can take to advocate for inclusion of oral health services in their state’s Medicaid waivers.

Who should attend:
Oral health, aging, and disability advocates and providers.

Presenters:
Amber Christ, Managing Director, Health Advocacy
Samantha Morales, Senior Policy Advocate

Related Resources

Skip to content