Search
Close this search box.

Policy Opportunities to Increase the Supplemental Security Income (SSI) Resource Limit

June 12, 2023

This webinar took place on Thursday, July 6, 2023, from 11:00 a.m. PT/2:00 p.m. ET – 12:00 p.m. PT/3:00 p.m. ET.

Supplemental Security Income (SSI) is a needs-based program with strict limits and complicated rules related to resources. To be eligible, an individual or couple must have countable resources that are no more than the resource limit ($2,000 for an individual, and $3,000 for a couple). Even one penny of “excess” resources can lead to benefit ineligibility, suspension, or termination from the SSI program. 

The SSI resource limit has been unchanged for over 30 years and is the leading cause of overpayments for SSI beneficiaries. Join us to learn more about bipartisan efforts to raise the limit and how you can get involved.  

Presenters:
Kate Lang, Director, Federal Income Security, Justice in Aging 
Kathleen Romig, Director of Social Security and Disability Policy, Center on Budget and Policy Priorities

Related Resources

Skip to content