Search
Close this search box.

Implementing the HCBS Settings Rule: Protecting Consumers from Harmful Evictions

The webinar took place on March 30, 2023, at 11:00 a.m. PT/2:00 p.m. ET – 12:15 p.m. PT/3:15 p.m. ET.

The Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) Settings Rule established minimum standards to ensure that Medicaid HCBS consumers live in settings that are truly non-institutional. States were originally expected to comply with the Rule in 2019; due to various extensions, states are now expected to adhere to the Rule on March 17th, 2023, under the terms of each state’s “transition plan.”

Under the Rule, HCBS consumers in “provider-owned or controlled” residential settings —e.g., assisted living facilities and group homes—must have eviction protections that are at least as strong as the protections in the state’s landlord/tenant law. But, as the expected compliance date approaches, protections in many states are suspect.

This webinar, Implementing the Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) Settings Rule: Protecting Consumers from Harmful Evictions, provides a high-level overview of the HCBS Settings Rule, defines eviction protections outlined in the Rule, and offers concrete state examples to illustrate concerns. The webinar also equips advocates with strategies to advocate for a baseline level of eviction protections for older adults and people with disabilities residing in Medicaid HCBS settings.

Who should attend: Aging and legal advocates, disability providers, and community-based organizations working with older adults and people with disabilities residing in Medicaid HCBS settings.

Presenters:

  • Eric Carlson, Director, Long-Term Services and Supports Advocacy
  • Hannah Diamond, Policy Advocate
  • Jennifer Kye, Senior Attorney

Watch the recording

Get the slides

Related Resources

Skip to content